Alarms Systems/Police and Fire
The City of Delaware requires each individual and business that uses a security alarm system to obtain a permit through the police department. Applications can be found on the Forms and Permits Page or by stopping at the Police Department. Once completed the application form should be mailed or brought to the Department, including the registration fee. A yearly application fee of $10 for residential and $25 for business is required. For residential alarms, each false alarm in excess of three shall be charged $50. For business or other non residential users, each false alarm in excess of two, up to and including four false alarms, shall be charged a fee of $50, with each false alarm in excess of four being charged $100 each. The records department will then mail you a renewal notice prior to your permit expiration date. Please note that failure to register your alarm is in violation of Delaware City ordinance 557.03, which requires that every building alarmed in the City of Delaware be registered. Failure to comply with this provision may result in penalties as provided by law
The Delaware Police Youth Basketball Camp provides youth the opportunity to interact with Delaware Police Officers outside of the police cruiser or uniform and on the basketball court. The camp promotes teamwork, communication, leadership, and sportsmanship while reinforcing the importance of maintaining an active, drug-free lifestyle. Registration Information and Camp Brochure.
The police department encourages community residents to register the bicycles with the Division of Police. Should a bicycle be lost or stolen, the police than have a means to identify the owner of the bicycle and return the bicycle once it is recovered. Registration of the bike can be done by downloading the form here or by obtaining a registration form at the Police Department. There is a $2 fee to register your bicycle which is valid for three years. A registration sticker will be issued for each bicycle registered.
The police department requests that all businesses in Delaware complete a business security form. The requested emergency contact information remains confidential and is accessed in the event that an unnatural situation occurs at or around the business. Call 740-203-1100 to request a business form be mailed to you. There is no fee.
Copies of reports are handled through the Records Division. It is open Monday through Friday, 7 am-11 pm or call (740)203-1100, option 3. Crash reports can now be obtained at Accident Report Search.
Fingerprinting (Please call first. This service may be impacted by COVID)
Services include electronic fingerprinting, both BCI and FBI, and inked fingerprint cards. We use the Webcheck system through the Ohio Attorney General’s Office. Available Thursdays, 8 am-12:30 pm and 1:30-4:30 pm. No appointment is needed. The cost is $35 for BCI or FBI; $60 for both; and $15 for two inked cards and $5 each per person. Cash or check only; no credit card payment. Phone 740-203-1151.
Home Security Assessment
The Delaware Police Department offers free security assessments to city residents. An officer will evaluate your home and recommend measures that can help reduce your chances of being burglarized. Please phone 740-203-1100, ext. 1132.
Vacation House Check
If you are planning on being away from home on vacation, you can schedule a Vacation House Check here. Be sure to include the following:
- Phone number in case Police needs to contact you
- Dates away from home
- Key holders staying behind (names and phone numbers)?
- Lights on timers?
- Vehicles in the driveway (make and model, possibly even license plates, are helpful)?
- Home alarm system?
- House sitters staying over for a few days?
- Other (previous break ins, gate to yard that doesn’t lock, etc.)
Criminal and Traffic Charge Information
Please contact Delaware Municipal Court, at 740-203-1550 for any information pertaining to questions concerning court dates or fines.
The Delaware Police Department does not provide services for vehicle or home lockouts. Please contact a local tow company or locksmith for assistance.
Records checks can be obtained from the Delaware Police Departments record division Monday through Friday, 7 am-11 pm. Download the Records Check form here and bring it to the Police Department. If you are requesting a check you must have either the date of birth or social security number of the person that is being checked. The Delaware Police Department is unable to give out any information concerning the number of traffic points on an individual’s record. For this information, contact the Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
Neighborhood Traffic Calming Guide
The manual can be downloaded here