Olentangy River Watershed

The Olentangy River flows 88.5 miles from its headwaters in Crawford and Richland County through Marion and Morrow County into the City of Delaware and ending in Franklin County at its confluence with the Scioto River.

The Olentangy River has a drainage area of 536 square miles. Twenty-two miles of the Olentangy were designated a state Scenic River by the Ohio Department of Natural Resources in 1973.

The designation runs from the Delaware Dam, north of the City, to the old Wilson Bridge Road in Worthington.


Everyone lives in a watershed and the City of Delaware is located in the Olentangy River watershed. A watershed is an area of land that directs surface water and ground water towards a single body of water. A ridge separates one watershed from another and will drain the water in different directions.

Each watershed can be broken down into subwatersheds or increased into larger watersheds. If the Olentangy River watershed was broken into smaller subwatersheds, some residents in the City of Delaware would live in the Delaware Run subwatershed, while others would live in the Sugar Run subwatershed. There are several other small waterways connecting to the Olentangy River that would be additional subwatersheds.

If the Olentangy River watershed was increased into larger watersheds, the Delaware City residents could say they live in the Scioto River watershed. Since the Olentangy drains into the Scioto River this would be a true statement. This also makes our watershed the Ohio River, Mississippi River, and Gulf of Mexico.  


August 15th - Olentangy River Clean-up
@ specific location TBD (contact Kristin Piper closer to date)
9:00-11:00 am


Spring 2013
Fall 2013
Winter 2013
Spring 2014
Summer 2014
Fall 2014
Winter 2014
Spring 2015
Summer 2015

HOW CAN YOU PROTECT THE Olentangy River Watershed:

City Watershed Coordinator Kristin Piper can be reached at 740-203-1905.

Drains to River Brochure
Storm Water Quality Implementations Brochure
Pet Waste Removal Flyer
Home Sewage Treatment Systems Guidebook


Olentangy Watershed Alliance                       Crawford County Health Department
Crawford County SWCD                                 Delaware County Health Department
Delaware County SWCD                                 Marion County Health Department
Marion County SWCD                                    Morrow County Health Department
Morrow County SWCD                                   Richland County Health Department
Richland County SWCD
Ohio EPA
ODNR - Division of Soil and Water