Government and City Council

Standing from left, City Manager Tom Homan, Andrew Brush (4th Ward), Joe DiGenova (3rd Ward), Chris Jones (1st Ward) and Kent Shafer (At-Large); seated from left, Vice-Mayor George Hellinger (At-Large), Mayor Carolyn Kay Riggle (At-Large) and Lisa Keller (2nd Ward).

The City of Delaware operates under a council-manager form of government. Council, as the legislative body, represents the entire community and is empowered by the City Charter to formulate Citywide policy. City Council is comprised of seven members; three elected at-large by all city residents, while the other four represent the four city wards and are elected only by those ward residents. All council members serve four-year terms. The mayor and vice mayor are selected from among the rank s of at-large council members and serve two-year terms.They appoint the City Clerk who records the public meetings. Council members are part-time civil servants who do n ot maintain offices at City Hall but, rather, serve their constituency through personal contact.

City Ward Map (PDF)
City Ordinances

Delaware City Council meetings are at 7 p.m., usually on the second and fourth Mondays of each month. The public is invited to attend. The meetings are held in City Hall Council Chambers, second floor, 1 South Sandusky Street. Those who would like to relay a question, comment or concern to Council may do so at the meetings or by contacting Council members through the links on t his page.

Citizens interested in placing an item on the agenda for discussion should submit their request to the City Manager's Office, City Hall, 1 South Sandusky Street, Delaware 43015. These requests should be received no less than seven days prior to the meeting date.

If you have any questions, please contact the City Manager's office at 740-203-1010 or click here.